Those you meet along the way

hanoi

First friend in Vietnam.

Travelling means meeting a lot of people along the way. Whether you are travelling on your own or with people, there will be some point where you have a chat with somebody over a drink, go on a day trip with people, or simply talk to people in your dorm room.

Some of these people you may become life-long friends with, others you may just spend one evening with, but both of these things are incredible. You share a moment together, some time together, on your separate adventures.

What I love nowadays is that thanks to social media (mainly Facebook but also blogs, emails and whats app) you can keep in contact with people and share in their successes long after meeting them. You can feel happy, excited, intrigued, sad, with the things they are going through.

So happy for these two getting engaged!

So happy for these two getting engaged!

Recently on Facebook I’ve seen people I met travelling get engaged, have someone close to them die, return home after travelling, exploring new places, or having a blast at University. I love the fact I can do that, and depending how long you spend with such people, you can really feel close to them. Share their joys and their sadness even when you’re far away.

I had some lonely times when I was travelling on my own in South East Asia, but I also met some really awesome people who made the trip exciting and had some of the most fun times with. They were people who shaped my trip and inspired me to do certain things and visit certain places.

There are so many people that have made a difference to all my travelling adventures. I’d love to thank and mention them all but here are just a few:

Vietnam – There was one girl who’s name I can’t remember (shameful, I know). I can’t even remember where she was from, but I think the Netherlands. We met one afternoon on a tour in Mu Nei, Vietnam. We were both female travellers on our own and just got on really well. We went out to dinner together that night and were partners on 2-4-1 beers. We talked about travelling and being on our own, the journeys, and the times along the way. We both left the next day in different directions but it was such a wonderful evening of talking and just instantly getting on with someone in a similar situation.

Thanks for everything Lizzie!

Thanks for everything Lizzie!

Albania – Mitch and I booked our flight to Albania on New Years Day when we were tired, hungover, but in the mood to finally put our travelling plan into action. We’d never used Airbnb before but found somewhere cheap in Tirana with a host called Lizzie who sounded great. She totally was. Not only did she show us places to eat and around the city, but she became a friend. We really lucked out on our first Airbnb experience and it was a wonderful way to start our trip.

Hungary – Due to travelling in low season, we hadn’t met that many travellers along the way in Eastern Europe. Of course we met a few people and enjoyed some great times with them, but it wasn’t until we got to Hungary and participated in Angloville that we met  a bunch of people we really hit it off with. The Hungarian people were lovely and offered us to stay with them (one of which we did), plus the other native English speakers were also fab and we spent some time with some of them after the programme. The Angloville programmes in general are perfect for meeting other travellers and sharing some special memories and moments with.

Great new friends from Angloville

Great new friends from Angloville.

So what I really want to say is a big thank you. To all of those I met in SE Asia, and all of those Mitch and I both met in Europe earlier this year, all those who let us into their homes, all those I can’t remember the names of or even have photos of. Wherever you are, whatever you’re doing – Be happy, be safe, and thank you. ❤

Cambodia

Exploring the temples of Angkor Wat in Cambodia with these lovely ladies.

New friends in Mostar, Bosnia & Herzegovina

New friends in Mostar, Bosnia & Herzegovina.

11077835_10153212218311532_532750018_n

Enjoying a sunny March day in Perast, Montenegro, with Alex.

10705156_10204928285511348_1062720891_n

Sometimes you meet the same people in a different city. Declan and I outside Notre Dam Cathedral in Ho Chi Minh City, I’d previously met him in Dalat, Vietnam. Luck had it that we met again.

The wonderful Yurko who we stayed with on his and his wife Katka and little baby Brako, Slovakia

The wonderful Yurko who we stayed with in Vinedol, Slovakia. His wife Katka and their baby Branco were wonderful hosts.

angloville

Frolicking about in Poland on an Angloville programme.

About helenanglin

I have a passion for travelling, seeing new places and meeting new people. I love writing and want to share these experiences with you.
This entry was posted in travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Those you meet along the way

  1. vkrivas says:

    I love these stories about meeting new friends abroad. It’s definitely one of my favorite parts of traveling!

    Like

Leave a comment