Rollercoaster Ride Starting Life In China

View from our flat watching Fireworks

View from our flat watching Fireworks

For those of you who don’t know, Mitch and I got ourselves teaching jobs in Hangzhou, China. It’s in the East, not far from Shanghai. We found jobs through a teaching agency who sorted us with school, accommodation, and a visa. So far, there have been highs and lows, but it’s all a new adventure in life and I remind myself I’m very lucky to be here.

We felt nervous and excited. For me, it was three big changes all at once: moving in with Mitch, starting a new job AND moving to a new country/continent. Madness eh?

Our flights over were fine until our luggage got lost. Just what you want when you’ve been travelling for nearly 24 hours, so that didn’t set us off to a very good start. We made our way to Hangzhou on the bus, we were tired, hot and had nothing but our hand luggage.

For the full post check out the updated Helen The Bristolian Backpacker website.

About helenanglin

I have a passion for travelling, seeing new places and meeting new people. I love writing and want to share these experiences with you.
This entry was posted in China, Hangzhou, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Rollercoaster Ride Starting Life In China

  1. Thanks for sharing, Helen. I’m rooting for you! Best of luck and keep us posted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment